CAFP Awards Mary Fairbanks

CAFP Awards 2016: Winners Announced!

The winners of the 2016 CAFP Awards have been announced. There were many outstanding nominees this year, and each represented the wonderful diversity and talent that is present in the primary care workforce.

Family Physician of the Year: Mary Fairbanks, MD

Dr. Mary Fairbanks practices at the InnovAge PACE – Cody Center in Lakewood, Colorado. Throughout her medical practice she has been an advocate for patients from all walks of life, including those struggling with homelessness and drug addiction. In her position at InnovAge, Dr. Fairbanks is a passionate leader and educator on the importance of end of life care. Dr. Fairbanks was given the CAFP’s Resident of the Year award in 1990.

Teacher of the Year: Kurt Dallow, MD

Dr. Kurt Dallow is a faculty member at North Colorado Family Medicine Residency Program in Greeley. He is also the coordinator for sports medicine for the North Colorado Medical Center. Dr. Dallow has been a full time faculty member since 1996. He is passionate about educating both residents and fellow physicians on care related to sports medicine. Dr. Dallow serves as one of the team physicians for the University of Colorado Greeley, as well as for area high school teams, and is often accompanied by residents as he fulfills these roles. Dr. Dallow also cares for a large geriatric population and enjoys taking time to hike, ski, and garden.

Resident of the Year: Michale Matergia, MD

Dr. Michael Matergia is a third year resident at St. Joseph Family Medicine Residency Program. He grew up in a small town in Pennsylvania, and received his undergraduate education at the University of Pennsylvania, studying Southeast Asian history. In between his undergraduate education and medical school he lived on a tea plantation in Northeastern India. Along with his wife, Denna, he co-founded and leads a a non-profit dedicated to community development in the Eastern Himalayas, Broadleaf Health Education Alliance. Dr. Matergia attended Harvard Medical School where he was an advocate for the importance of primary care.

Patient Centered Medical Home of the Year: University of Colorado Primary Care Clinic at Lone Tree

University of Colorado Primary Care Clinic at Lone Tree received Level 3 NCQA Certification in 2013. The practice includes six family medicine physicians, two internal medicine physicians, an NP and a DNP. The clinic engages in a number of quality improvement and care management practices, and has seen recent success in increasing vaccination and screening rates.  The physicians at the practice are thought leaders on the PCMH model and have presented at numerous conferences on the topic.

For more information on the CAFP Awards, including information on nominations for the 2017 awards, click here.